#OpenDND : Boycotting creators is NOT the answer

The backlash that small /indie / 3rd party creators, writing for 5e, have suffered this week as a result of Wizards of the Coast / Hasbro’s vile actions regarding the OGL saga is severely misguided and utterly horrifying.

The OGL changes sought to harm our treasured 3rd party creators who publish using the OGL.

In a heart-warming show of support for THESE CREATORS, the community rallied together and, by cancelling D&D Beyond subscriptions, backed Wizards/Hasbro into a corner such that they have so far decided not to officially release their planned changes. (note, they HAVE NOT BACKTRACKED – merely stalled)

So why, now, have some people turned upon the very creators we were all trying to protect?

Boycotting creators who write for 5e using the OGL (or even DM’s Guild) doesn’t punish Wizards/Hasbro.

Another thing to consider, is that the motive behind actions such as cancelling D&D Beyond subscriptions, was to send a clear message to WotC/Hasbro that 3rd party content is the lifeblood of the game- not to ‘Break D&D’ or get rid of it!

That would harm creators who have built their livelihood around writing for 5e.

We NEED these writers (I can’t stress this enough) because they are often from marginalized groups such as LGBTQIA2S+ or BIPOC whose voices rarely (if ever) get a space to be heard in WotC publications – or when they are ‘represented’ it is only in some disgustingly racist / prejudiced context.

The motive behind the boycotting of D&DBeyond was to send a message to Wizards/Hasbro that we, the community, CARE ABOUT OUR 3RD PARTY CREATORS.

We care about them SO MUCH, that if they’re out – we’re out!

But with that statement goes the sister notion that: If they’re IN – we’re IN too!

Understandably, many 3rd party creators have had enough of the OGL completely and are moving away from writing for 5e.

With leaked emails showing that Wizards STILL intend to try to force the changes (and in fact MORE) upon us, the urge to leave is understandable.

Many of us feel we have been kicked in the teeth and rather than wait to see if a second beating will come in a month or so, we’re choosing to ‘jump before we’re pushed’. Others simply feel they no longer want to be associated with a brand that treats its community of fans and creators with such blatant contempt.

But that is absolutely not a signal for people to start abusing, harassing and boycotting those who are choosing to stay. There is no shame in either path – each creator must consider their own feelings and finances and choose the best path forward for themselves and their fan base and WE MUST AND WILL SUPPORT THEM.

Personally, I’m still finding my road through and it’s going to take some time…

I love playing DnD and I will never stop playing it.

I detest WotC and haven’t given them any money for many years.

I’m certain that if Wizards/Hasbro succeed in pushing through their plans to centralize D&D in the all-powerful hub of Beyond and put everything behind paywalls I will not be a part of that.

I’m equally certain that if that happens I will do everything in my power to keep playing, writing, running and home-brewing D&D games independently FOR FREE.

However, writing for 5e IS a small but significant part of my income – and Wizards/Hasbro have made it clear that they want to squeeze out creators like me. If the changes they plan for succeed I won’t be able to publish my paid content for 5e anymore – so with many of my products, I’m making the shift to other systems / system agnostic now, before that happens. I don’t trust WotC/Hasbro at all, and I feel absolutely disgusted and horrified at their actions and motives (though perhaps not surprised!)

But this does NOT mean I will stop supporting creators who are staying. It does not mean I will stop playing, running and writing for D&D – for free. It does not mean I will stop fighting to keep D&D Open!

You will still see me interviewing, reviewing and supporting our fabulous 5e creators, artists, pod-casters, cartographers, musicians and everyone in between.

My love, admiration and support are here 100% for indie creators and always will be.

Further Reading / viewing:

Find essays, updates, information, FAQs and answers from law experts here:

https://www.opendnd.games/

Wizards have NOT backed down…

Polygon expects Wizards to ditch DM’s Guild…

https://www.polygon.com/23344107/dungeons-and-dragons-third-party-licensing

Leave a comment